Jay Ellenby Elected to Lead ASTA Executive CommitteePress Releases - News - ASTA

October 6, 2016

Contact: Erika Richter

Jay Ellenby Elected to Lead ASTA Executive Committee

Alexandria, VA, October 5, 2016 – The Board of Directors of the American Society of Travel Advisors (ASTA) elected Jay Ellenby, President of Safe Harbors Business Travel in Bel Air, MD, as its next Chairman.

The announcement was made during the 2016 ASTA Global Convention (AGC) in Reno-Tahoe on September 26. Rounding out the Executive Committee is Vice Chair/Secretary Dave Hershberger of Prestige Travel Leaders in Cincinnati, OH, Treasurer Eric Maryanov of All Travel in Los Angeles, CA and Corporate agenty Council Chair Jennifer Wilson-Buttigieg of Valerie Wilson Travel, Inc. in New York, NY. The Executive Committee serves a one-year term that begins effective with the end of the AGC

“We are excited to work with Jay as he takes on the chair role,” said Zane Kerby, ASTA President & CEO. “He has served on the Executive Committee as Vice Chair and Secretary this past year and his deep commitment to ASTA’s advocacy mission was highlighted during the Maryland hotel tax fight in 2015. Well-versed on the issues facing our industry and a savvy business operator, Jay will serve ASTA members well.”

During AGC, Kerby thanked all of the incoming and outgoing members of the board, but especially outgoing Chair Roger Block of Travel Leaders Network in Plymouth, MN. “Roger has served the board and all ASTA members valiantly. I am grateful for both his expert counsel and his friendship and thank him for his tireless dedication to this association.”

Kerby gave recognition to the outgoing Board members – Marc Casto of Casto Travel, Jorge Sanchez of Mena Travel & Tours, Jackie Friedman of Nexion, Staci Blunt of Vacation Visions, Ralph Vasami of Caprice Travel, Mike Weingart of Air Land Sea Consultants, Dan Smith of Travel by Dan and Ertugrul Karaoglu of Intra Travel. He also welcomed the newest members to the Board – Rick Ardis of Ardis Travel, Betsy Geiser of Uniglobe Travel Center, Denise Jackson of Balboa Travel, Inc., Scott Koepf of Avoya, Steve Powers of Hidden Treasure Travel & Tours (East Region Director), Helen Prochilo (NACTA Member Director), Olga Ramudo of Express Travel, Laura Rodriguez of Marina Tours & Travel (West Region Director) and Chris Seddelmeyer of Travel Concepts (Central Region Director).

Rebranded in 2018 as the American Society of Travel Advisors, ASTA is the leading global advocate for travel advisors, the travel industry and the traveling public. Its members represent 80 percent of all travel sold in the United States through the travel agency distribution channel. Together with hundreds of internationally-based members, ASTA’s history of industry advocacy traces back to its founding in 1931 when it launched with the mission to facilitate the business of selling travel through effective representation, shared knowledge and the enhancement of professionalism. For more information about the Society, visit ASTA.org. Consumers can connect with an ASTA travel advisor at TravelSense.org.

Ensemble Travel Group Travel Leaders Virtuoso Amadeus Carey Discover Puerto Rico Marriot Norwegian UATP Alamo_Enterprise_National
American Airlines
Best Western
Royal Caribbean International
Scenic Cruises
AIG Celebrity Cruises logo Hertz Corp Msc Cruises Travel Insured Visit Anchorage Apple Leisure Group ARC Avis Budjet Sabre Travel network The Travel Corporation Tramada Travelport Travelsavers

ASTA Headquarters

American Society of Travel Advisors
675 N Washington St, Ste 490
Alexandria, VA 22314 U.S.A.