ASTA Executive Committee, Board of Directors Set for 2018-2019Press Releases - News - ASTA

August 29, 2018

Contact: Jessica Parker

ASTA Executive Committee, Board of Directors Set for 2018-2019

Alexandria, VA, August 29, 2018 – The American Society of Travel Advisors (ASTA) is pleased to announce that its elected leadership team is set for the 2018-2019 term, which began at the conclusion of the ASTA Global Convention in Washington, D.C. last week.

On August 21, the incumbent Board of Directors convened to elect the new Executive Committee, which is comprised of a Chairman, Vice Chairman and Secretary, Treasurer and the Chair of ASTA’s Corporate Advisory Council (CAC). As a result of the voting on August 21, the new ASTA Executive Committee is:

  • Dave Hershberger, President, Prestige Travel Inc./Travel Leaders, Cincinnati OH (Chairman)
  • Eric Maryanov, President, All-Travel, Los Angeles CA (Vice Chairman and Secretary)
  • Steve Powers, President, Hidden Treasure Tours, New Lebanon NY (Treasurer & Area Director, East Region)
  • Denise Jackson, President & CEO, Balboa Travel Inc., San Diego CA (CAC Chair)

The ASTA Board of Directors is made up of 15 members representing all segments of the industry, with a blend of elected seats and seats reserved by ASTA’s bylaws. In addition to the Executive Committee, members of the 2018-2019 ASTA Board of Directors are:

  • Rick Ardis, Ardis Travel, East Rutherford NJ (elected to second term)
  • Brian Chapin, Ensemble Travel Group, Chicago IL (newly elected, serving 1 year term)
  • Betsy Geiser, Uniglobe Travel Center, Irvine CA (elected to second term)
  • Toni Lanotte-Day, Toni Tours Inc., Levittown NY (completing final year of term)
  • Olga Ramudo, Express Travel, Miami FL (elected to second term)
  • Patty Thorington, Plaza Travel, Encino CA (newly elected)
  • Michael Dixon, Travelink/American Express, Nashville TN (CAC Vice Chair)
  • Helen Prochilo, Promal Vacations, Long Beach NY (NACTA/ASTA Small Business Network Member) (elected to second term)
  • Cheryl Bunker, Virtuoso, Fort Worth TX (Consortium Member)
  • Laura Rodriguez, Marina Tours and Travel Arizona LLC, Phoenix AZ (Area Director, West Region) (elected to second term)
  • Chris Seddelmeyer, Seddelmeyer Travel Concepts, Lima OH (Area Director, Central Region) (elected to second term)

“Fresh off a successful annual convention and rebranding launch, we are excited to work with this stellar group of volunteers on the new Board of Directors as we build on ASTA’s many successes under the leadership of outgoing chair Jay Ellenby,” said Zane Kerby, ASTA President & CEO. “This Board has a deep commitment to ASTA’s advocacy and consumer awareness mission and they are well-versed on the issues facing our industry. Together with these savvy businesswomen and -men dedicated to shaping a positive future for our industry, we will do great things.”

Rebranded in 2018 as the American Society of Travel Advisors, ASTA is the leading global advocate for travel advisors, the travel industry and the traveling public. Its members represent 80 percent of all travel sold in the United States through the travel agency distribution channel. Together with hundreds of internationally-based members, ASTA’s history of industry advocacy traces back to its founding in 1931 when it launched with the mission to facilitate the business of selling travel through effective representation, shared knowledge and the enhancement of professionalism. For more information about the Society, visit Consumers can connect with an ASTA travel advisor at

Ensemble Travel Group Travel Leaders Virtuoso Amadeus Carey Discover Puerto Rico Marriot Norwegian UATP Alamo_Enterprise_National
American Airlines
Best Western
Royal Caribbean International
Scenic Cruises
AIG Celebrity Cruises logo Hertz Corp Msc Cruises Travel Insured Visit Anchorage Apple Leisure Group ARC Avis Budjet Sabre Travel network The Travel Corporation Tramada Travelport Travelsavers
Sign Up for the Travel Advisor Daily

ASTA Headquarters

American Society of Travel Advisors
675 N Washington St, Ste 490
Alexandria, VA 22314 U.S.A.